Faculty association to salute 28 additions to Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor


Faculty association to salute 28 additions to Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor


JONESBORO — The Arkansas State University Faculty Association will recognize 28 individuals, whose names have been selected to appear on the Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor, at the Faculty Conference of fall on Wednesday, August 17. Recognition is scheduled to begin around 10 a.m. at Centennial Hall of the Reng Student Union.

Distinguished faculty recognition began during the university’s centennial celebration in 2009–2010, when the faculty association selected the “First 100 Distinguished Faculty”.

Through a faculty committee nomination process, the association selects retired faculty who have made significant, long-term contributions to the success of Arkansas State. A second group of 31 was selected and recognized in 2014; the selection of the current group has been delayed by the pandemic.

“As President of the Faculty Association, it has been a pleasure to work with the Historical Committee to receive nominations from each college for the Distinguished Faculty Awards,” said Donna Caldwell, Associate Professor of Medical Imaging and radiation sciences and president of the Faculty Association. This is the highest honor given to faculty by Arkansas State University and the Faculty Association. I am honored to be part of honoring and recognizing these 28 incredible key faculty members.

Dr. John D. Hall, chairman of the history committee of the faculty association, quoted former history professor Lee A. Dew’s book, The History of ASU: A History of Arkansas State University 1909-1967, as the source of a line reproduced on the Wall of Honor: “The most vital part of any college is the faculty, for without a qualified and capable faculty no college can function effectively.” The Wall of Honor is in front of the Centennial Hall.

“These 28 retired faculty members who were recently nominated by their colleagues and selected by the executive committee of the faculty association in accordance with the bylaws of the faculty association represent a most distinguished group of qualified and capable faculty.” , Hall added. “These professors, like those selected before them for this high honor, have advanced their departments, colleges, universities and disciplines in exemplary fashion.”

During the brief ceremony, each new distinguished faculty member, or representative, will receive a certificate signifying their selection for the prestigious recognition.

Here are the 28 newly appointed Distinguished Professors:

– Thomas M. Adams, Ed.D., Professor of Exercise Science, 1981-2016

— Neale K. Bartee, Ph.D., music teacher, 1973-2014

— Sandra K. Bevill, Ph.D., Professor of Corporate Communication, 1991-2021

— Lew E. Brinkley, Ph.D., professor of agricultural economics, 1969-2005

— David W. Cox, Ed.D., professor of instructional leadership, 1992-2014

— Carole L. Cramer, Ph.D., Professor of Molecular Biology, 2004-2018

— William R. Crumpton, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Agricultural Engineering, 1980-2006

— Robert D. Engelken, Ph.D., Professor of Electrical Engineering, 1982-2016

— David E. England, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Political Science, 1988-2006

— Richard K. Freer, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Social Work, 1994-2014

— Anne A. Grippo, Ph.D., professor of biology, 1995-2021

— Julie J. Isaacson, MSN, Associate Professor of Nursing, 1987-2016

– Craig H. Jones, Ed.D., Professor of Psychology and Counseling, 1977-2017

— James Howard Keene, Ph.D., professor of animal science, 1964-1995

— Coy N. London, Ph.D., associate professor of accounting, 1970-1996

— Gregory B. Meeks, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Teacher Education, 2003-2018

— Richard A. Neeley, Ph.D., Professor of Communication Disorders, 1987-2018

— William C. Payne, MS, Associate Professor of Microbiology, 1988-2019

— Jeffrey R. Pittman, JD, Professor of Business Law, 1983-2021

— Daniel F. Ross, DMA, music teacher, 1973-2018

— Robert F. Rossa, Ph.D., professor of mathematics, 1969-2004

– Ralph Ruby Jr., Ed.D., professor of computer science and technology, 1979-2020

— Pat S. Shackelford, Ph.D., associate professor of agricultural engineering, 1976-1998

— Russell E. Shain, Ph.D., professor of journalism, 1990-2010

—Robert P. Smith, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Mathematics, 1969-2008

— Curtis E. Steele, MFA, Professor of Graphic Design, 1978-2017

— Dennis W. White, Ph.D., associate professor of voice communication, 1974-2007

— Raymond F. Winters, MS, Associate Professor of Radiological Sciences, 1995-2018

Nameplates, with each individual’s academic title and years of service, are added to the wall of recognition for public viewing beginning Wednesday.


Comments are closed.